The Sylvia Hotel – A Vancouver icon

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I love to visit and write about exotic places but I’m lucky that exotic doesn’t always have to mean far from home.

Just down the street from where I live is the historic Sylvia Hotel. Built in 1912 and draped in colourful, insidious vine, its about as much a landmark as anything in my home of Vancouver could be. I’ve never stayed there but it comes recommended by those I know who have and its right next to English Bay and the beach.

I have come to appreciate the handy location of this icon. Inside its cozy bar and restaurant I have celebrated with friends and family,  done the ‘woe is me’ after a breakup, shared deep, longing looks and good wine with a love on Valentines, and had several first dates. All that 2 blocks from home. Thanks Sylvia!

http://www.sylviahotel.com

This entry was posted in British Columbia, Travel, Vancouver and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sylvia Hotel – A Vancouver icon

  1. Gwen says:

    I hope the Sylvia Hotel knows about this fabulous post!

Leave a Reply

