Cycling is the cure…really.

So here is the deal. I have been suffering from stiff, achy legs and hips for months now and its gradually been getting worse.

It might be a lingering result of my car being rear ended 3x last September – yeah Vancouver drivers! It could be arthritic pain brought on by menopause. Yes, there is such a thing. Estrogen reduces inflammation and the drop in estrogen during menopause means inflamed joints are not as protected as they once were. And then to cap it off, in July I was tossed around by a mega wave in the Bali surf. My right leg was sent flying wildly offside spinning me around and wrenching my hips.

So how to fix said aches and stiffness. Green Tea extract is supposed to help balance hormones and offset menopause stiffness. So far its not working but I’m hopeful.

But here is this week’s aha moment. I’m not a regular cyclist but to take in our phenomenal September weather I jumped on my bike multiple times in the past few days. And to my great excitement…..drum roll….when I got off the bike my hips were no longer hurting and my legs weren’t stiff! I felt great! What a relief!

So there you have it. No medication required. Just a helmet, a bike and a spin on the seawall.

For more information on cycling benefits check out this tip from the Sport and Spine clinic in Abbotsford. http://www.sportandspinerehab.ca/tip.html

This entry was posted in Health and Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cycling is the cure…really.

  1. echoes of critical thought says:

    Thanks for posting! You must be SO happy!! Your surfing accident sounds really painful, by the way! But, great to hear that cycling has helped! =)

  2. triphappy says:

    You are most welcome. It was painful and I slipped twice after. I seem to like to do things in 3’s. I’ve never been a cyclist but its on my list of ‘to do”s now! Thanks for your comments.

  3. I have Reiki for aches and pains, you really can’t beat it. I was really sceptical about such things until I experienced it for the first time abut WOW! I couldn’t believe the heat and energy that was being generated.

Leave a Reply

