Yoga and Running: A perfect balance

I don’t seem to get any better (and by better I mean more flexible) at yoga and I’m pretty sure its because I run. Okay its also because I sit at a computer which is also really bad for your body and creates all kinds of tightness and misalignments.

Yoga and running go hand in hand. One stretches out your body and makes the joints supple and the other one tightens them right back up! My hamstrings and hip flexors don’t know whether they are coming or going. I’m no expert at either but there are those folks versed in both who we can all learn from. One is Mike Dennison who offers Yoga for Runners here in Vancouver. Check out what he has to say at http://www.mikedennisonyoga.com.

The photo of the beautiful man doing the mountain pose on the beach was shot by me in the wee morning hours in July on the island of Gili Air, Indonesia. I was so glad to be there for the sunrise…ahem.

This entry was posted in Health and Lifestyle, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yoga and Running: A perfect balance

  1. Tell me about it! I keep doing low lunges and my hips are killing me from all my running.

  2. triphappy says:

    Its a bit crazy isn’t it? I wish the running wasn’t so hard on your body especially the hips. This morning is a 40 minute planned run with hills…I foresee some lunges in my future:) Have a great day Maddison.

Leave a Reply

