Eat Pray Love part II

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This post is called part II because the theme is prayer not eating. I just don’t know where to start when it comes to writing about the food here because I’ve been eating like a queen for the last 7 days. Anyway it’s my blog and I can do what I like and that includes mixing up the order of things.

Meditation and prayers are a daily practice here at the ashram. The members pray 4 times a day and all meals are also blessed. Ibu Gedong, the founder made sure the overall philosophy was that all faiths would feel welcomed. I discovered this when to my great surprise,  the first prayer session I attended included “How Great Thou Art”, my grandfather’s favourite hymn. I always get teary eyed when I hear it and this was no exception. Once of the young ashram members saw me wiping a tear from my cheek and she gently smiled.

I don’t think you can argue with Gandhi’s Seven Social Sins. They seem sensible and an apt guideline to an honourable life. They are painted prominently on a wall in the ashram so members and visitors cannot go by without seeing them.

The gates lead from the ashram to the ocean or the lagoon. I don’t believe they have any spiritual significance but they are beautiful and they just seemed to fit this post.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eat Pray Love part II

  1. gwengnazdowsky says:

    Thanks for Gandhi’s Seven Social Sins. I posted it on Facebook. Brilliant. Thanks for sharing your adventures Sherry. You are brilliant!!!

  2. triphappy says:

    I blush! It so amazing here. The people are just lovely, the food is fresh, the view is stunning….thank goodness I live in beautiful Vancouver because leaving here will be difficult.

Leave a Reply

